In the invitation process for a Shared Session, the host can choose between different access rights of the participants to the Shared Session. This ensures that group work is controlled and that data statuses can only be edited with the appropriate authorization. In addition, the host can change the access rights at any time. For example, it may be necessary to revoke the rights to edit a Session after working together on it.
Please note:Participants in a Shared Session via laptop / PC are automatically in a video call. The Workspace for joint editing is currently only available to participants on Sessionboards. Accordingly, the editing rights only apply to these participants.
What access rights are there?
Depending on the group work situation, the host can choose between three different access rights that he can assign to the participants of a Shared Session:
- "Can edit while Session is active"
You can only participate in a Session as soon as and as long as the host has opened the Shared Session on the Sessionboard, i.e. it is active.
- "Can edit"
You can participate in a Session at any time, even if the host has not opened the Shared Session on the Sessionboard, i.e. it is not active.
- "Only you have access"
Only you as host and owner of the Session have access to the Shared Session. It cannot or can no longer be opened and edited by participants. This allows you to revoke all rights to the Shared Session from the participants.
We recommend using the option "Can edit while Session is active" as the default setting, as this always ensures that the participants cannot view and edit the Session without the participating host.
Please note: The "Can view" option is currently not available and is therefore grayed out in the drop-down list.
Grant or change access rights
Access rights can be managed by the host in the Session Library. To do this, follow the procedure below:
- Inviting participants to a Shared Session as well as changing the access rights of an already shared Session takes place under "Share Session" in the three-point menu of the corresponding Session.
- Select the desired access right from the drop-down list. It does not matter whether you have already shared the Session via the link and now want to change the access right, or whether you want to share the Session for the first time. Once you have selected the access right, it is changed and valid for all participants.
Please note: The generated link is persistent. It therefore remains persistent for the Shared Session and does not change, even if you change the access rights. The same link can be used again and again for this Session.
- If you would like to withdraw all rights to the Shared Session from the participants, then select "Only you have access" from the access rights.
Please note: If you withdraw rights from the participants, they will be informed.
- Click on "Done" to close the window.